Gray perseveres, returns to RNCFR

Home - Uncategorized - Gray perseveres, returns to RNCFR

EDITOR’S NOTE: This story is for the 2012 Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo, set for March 29-April 1 in Oklahoma City. To see more information on this great event, click HERE.

Let’s face facts: Ryan Gray’s 2010 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo stunk.

Ryan Gray
Ryan Gray

Gray, a seven-time NFR qualifier in bareback riding from Cheney, Wash., was stepped on after falling to the ground in Round 2, suffering a lacerated liver. The world standings leader heading into the championship, Gray went on injured reserve and missed the rest of the finals.

In fact, he missed several of the first few rodeos of the 2011 campaign while recovering from the injury, including the Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo in its inaugural year in Oklahoma City. That injury was becoming a nuisance, but Gray persevered.

In fact, he returned to the NFR this past December and faired fairly well, winning nearly $45,000 in 10 days. He even won a go-round for the first time in seven years, riding Carr Pro Rodeo’s MGM Deuces Night for 90 points to take the top prize on the fifth night.

That was just the whipped topping on a triumphant return to rodeo for the cowboy who spends a good portion of his time living near Lubbock, Texas, with his wife, Lacy; he also won the Columbia River Circuit’s bareback riding title and secured his first trip to Oklahoma City since National Circuit Finals moved to the Oklahoma capital a year ago.

“There’s a lot of added money there,” Gray said about the RNCFR, which takes place March 29-April 1 at State Fair Arena. “You have a lot of opportunity to win that money. Not only that, but they give away a pickup.”

With Ram as the title sponsor, each of the event winners earns a voucher for a vehicle. That comes in quite handy for cowboys and cowgirls who make their livings on the rodeo trail. Gray knows that well; he won the national title just two seasons ago.

RNCFR bareback riding qualifiers
This list is subject to change

Casey Colletti                                    Seth Hardwick
Ryan Gray                                         Brian Bain
Will Lowe
                                                         Chris Harris
Joe Gunderson                                   Mac Erickson
Tyson Thompson                                Clint Lear
J.C. Smith                                          Clovis Crane
Bo Casper                                          Tanner Aus
Chase Erickson                                  J.R. Vezain
Codi Myers                                        Monty Goodwin
Dustin Smith                                      Brandon Holmes
Wyatt Hancock                                  Luke Creasy
Kaycee Feild                                     Cody DeMers


Leave A Comment


Latest News