Harris leads powerful list for final night in Pecos

Home - Uncategorized - Harris leads powerful list for final night in Pecos

The final night of the 130th West of the Pecos Rodeo promises a grand conclusion to an already fabulous event.

J.W. Harris
J.W. Harris

The brightest star scheduled to compete Saturday night inside Buck Jackson Arena is three-time bull riding world champion J.W. Harris. Not only has Harris been to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo each of the last seven years, he won his titles consecutively, from 2008-10.

In Pecos, he is matched against Carr Pro Rodeo’s Small Pox. Meanwhile, three-time NFR qualifier Tate Stratton has drawn Big Stan, a bull owned by Billy Jones.

They aren’t the only players ProRodeo’s grand finale who will be part of the action. They’ll be joined by bareback rider Jared Smith, who has drawn Big Lights, one of Carr’s horses that has bucked at the NFR.

In bronc riding, reigning rookie of the year Spencer Wright has drawn Carr’s Empty Pockets, also an NFR bucking horse. Wright’s oldest brother, Cody, leads the standings after an 88-point ride Friday night on Carr’s Deuces Wild. He’ll be joined by Sam Spreadborough, a two-time NFR qualifier who has Carr’s Champaign Jam, and Bradley Harter, a seven-time NFR qualifier who will match Carr’s Big Time.

Every cowboy on the list will have his hands full. In addition to Cody Wright’s lead in saddle bronc riding, Taylor Price leads bareback riding with an 88-point ride on Carr’s Dirty Jacket, and Elliot Jacoby leads bull riding with a 91 on Pete Carr’s Classic Pro Rodeo’s Hustler.

But it should be fun watching what happens next. Other leaders for the rodeo titles include team ropers Trevor Brazile and Patrick Smith, who have roped two steers in a cumulative time of 13.0 seconds; steer roper Troy Tillard, 42.2 seconds on three runs; Brazile in tie-down roping with 18.0 seconds on two runs; steer wrestler Ben Shofner, 12.9 on two; and barrel racer Jana Bean, 17.56 seconds.


Leave A Comment


Latest News