Hall, Bray speed to round lead

Home - Uncategorized - Hall, Bray speed to round lead

SAN ANGELO, Texas – Thursday’s run didn’t work out the way the team roping tandem of Brenten Hall and Paden Bray had hoped.

The duo suffered a five-second penalty when Bray only secured one leg instead of two in his heel loop, pushing their first-round time to 9.0 seconds. That takes them out of title contention at the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo, but it didn’t stop them from trying to make some money.

They bounced back during Friday’s sixth performance and put together a 3.6-second run, the fastest of this year’s rodeo so far.

“Because I caught just a leg last night, the average is not even in the equation,” said Bray, 24, a two-time National Finals Rodeo heeler from Stephenville, Texas. “We just had to take the gloves off and bring smoke and see what we could get done.”

It moves them into the Round 2 lead and gives them a shot at good money. The second-round winners from the 2022 edition of San Angelo’s rodeo pocketed more than $5,000 apiece. That’s important because this is how cowboys make a living, but the money is also important for the standings. In rodeo, dollars equal championship points, so every cent counts for something.

“That steer we had last night was pretty strong and wanted to push the rope,” he said. “He beat me to the ground, and I lost a leg (on his loop). I could have done a little bit better job; when my guy spins one for money, you’ve got to do your job. He did a really good job last night, and he did a great job tonight. He was rank both nights.”

Hall, 23, is a three-time NFR header from Jay, Oklahoma, and is in his first year of teaming with Bray. Hall is 23rd in the world standings, and Bray is 21st on the heeling money list. They’re in good position as they wade through the spring portion of the season and await the hectic summer run of rodeos that begin in late June.

“Angelo is a great rodeo and one of my favorites,” Bray said. “Just because a guy has some tough luck in the first round, they still have a chance to make some good money. We make a living at this, so it’s important for us to have as many chances to get paid as we can, and Angelo does that for us.”

Bray is in his fifth year competing in the PRCA, but he’s been to Foster Communication Coliseum plenty in his lifetime. It’s just 155 miles from Stephenville to San Angelo, and he’s witnessed greatness in Tom Green County often.

“Ty Harris and I have been best friends since before we were in high school,” Bray said of the tie-down roper, a four-time NFR qualifier from San Angelo. “I’ve been here a lot, and every year I get to come here, I get really excited. The fans feed off this rodeo. It’s a unique crowd, because they know rodeo and they care about rodeo. They’re here to see us show off and see us show our talents.

“The loudest crowd I’ve ever heard in my life was when Ty tied his calf one year. It was louder than the NFR. They love rodeo, they love roping, and I appreciate what that committee does for us to come to a rodeo to experience all that. It’s truly a blessing.”

San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo
March 31-April 14
Bareback riding leaders:
1. Jess Pope, on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Painted River, and Clayton Biglow, on Macza Pro Rodeo’s Stevie Knicks, 87 points; 3. (tie) Richmond Champion and Jacek Frost, 84.5; 5. R.C. Landingham, 84; 6. (tie) Ty Pope and Dean Thompson, 83.5; 8. (tie) Kade Sonnier and A.J. Ruth, 83; 10. Gauge McBride, 82; 11. Chad Rutherford, 81.5; 12. Hunter Ramsey, 80.5.

Steer wrestling: First round leaders: 1. Dakota Eldridge, 3.4 seconds; 2. Will Lummus, 3.5; 3. Jay Williamson, 3.7; 4. (tie) Eli Lord, Logan Kenline and Denard Butler, 3.8; 7. Ty Erickson, 3.9; 8. (tie) Paul Melvin, Payden McIntyre and Wade Steffen, 4.0. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Justin Shaffer and Cody Devers, 3.5 seconds; 3. (tie) Tanner Milan and Brandon Harrison, 3.8; 5. Stan Branco, 3.9; 6. (tie) Tucker Allen, Joe Nelson and Talon Roseland, 4.1. Average leaders: 1. (tie) Cody Devers, Will Lummus and Eli Lord, 8.2 seconds on two runs; 4. Jesse Brown, 8.3; 5. Jay Williamson, 8.4; 6. Talon Roseland, 8.5; 7. Mason Couch, 8.8; 8. Curtis Cassidy, 9.0; 9. Stephen Culling, 9.1; 10. Boyd Sawyer, 9.3; 11. Bridger Anderson, 9.6; 12. Tucker Allen, 9.7.

Team roping: First round leaders: 1. J.C. Yeahquo/L.J. Yeahquo, 3.9 seconds; 2. Cyle Denison/Cody Hogan, 4.0; 3. (tie) McCray Profili/McCoy Profili and Bubba Buckaloo/Riley Wakefield, 4.3; 5. (tie) Ty Arnold/Kaden Profili, Clint Keller/Morgan Jones and Korbin Rice/Jake South, 4.4; 8. (tie) Tanner Green/Caleb Green and Garrett Tonozzi/Corey Hendrick, 4.5. Second round leaders: 1. Brenten Hall/Paden Bray, 3.6 seconds; 2. (tie) Coy Brittain/Colton Brittain and Billy Bob Brown/Kirby Blankenship, 4.0 seconds; 4. Garett Chick/B.J. Dugger, 4.1; 5. (tie) Tanner Green/Caleb Green and Reno Stoebner/Whit Kitchens, 4.2; 7. Tyler Mangus/Max Kuttler, 4.3; 8. Ty Arnold/Kaden Michael Profili, 4.4. Average leaders: 1. J.C. Yeahquo/L.J. Yeahquo, 8.4 seconds on two runs; 2. Tanner Green/Caleb Green, 8.7; 3. Ty Arnold/Kaden Michael Profili, 8.8; 4. Tyler Mangus/Max Kuttler, 9.3; 5. Jake Clay/Kollin VonAhn and Garrett Tonozzi/Corey Hendrick, 9.5; 7. Tanner James/Jason Johe, 9.6; 8. (tie) McCray Profili/McCoy Profili and Chris Francis/Cade Passig, 9.7; 10. Jase Staudt/Jhett Trenary; 9.8; 11. Korbin Rice/Jake South, 9.9; 12. (tie) Kreece Thompson/Landen Glenn and Kellen Johnson/Carson Johnson, 10.2.

Saddle bronc riding leaders: 1. Brody Cress, 87.5 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Spotted Charm; 2. Wyatt Casper, 86; 3. Sage Newman, 84.5; 4. (tie) Cash Wilson and Tanner Butner, 84; 6. (tie) Ryder Wright and Statler Wright, 83.5; 8. (tie) Wade Sundell, Ross Griffin, Brandon Lansford, Zac Dallas and Kolby Wanchuk, 83.

Tie-down roping: First round leaders: 1. (tie) Brush Minton, Hayden Ford and Chase Webster, 7.6 seconds; 4. King Pickett, 7.8; 5. Quade Hiatt, 7.9; 6. Kyle Lucas, 8.0; 7. (tie) Trevor Hale, Blake Ash, Roan Hudson and Ryan Jarrett, 8.1. Second round leaders: 1. Justin Smith, 6.9 seconds, 2. J.T. Adamson, 7.2; 3. (tie) Cory Solomon and Preston Pederson, 7.4; 5. (tie) John Douch and Trenton Smith, 7.6; 7. (tie) Cimarron Boardman and Beau Cooper, 7.7. Average leaders: 1. Justin Smith, 15.3 seconds on two runs; 2. J.T. Adamson, 15.8; 3. Brush Minton, 16.6; 4. Hayden Ford, 16.7; 5. Cody Waldrop, 16.8; 6. (tie) Westyn Hughes and Chase Webster, 17.0; 8. Beau Cooper, 17.1; 9. (tie) Chantz Webster and Taylor Santos, 17.6; 11. Charlie Gibson, 17.7; 12. (tie) Cimarron Boardman and Blake Ash, 17.8.  

Barrel racing: Second round leaders: 1. Wenda Johnson, 14.23 seconds; 2. Kaycee Killingsworth, 14.25; 3. Nicole Love, 14.27; 4. Rachelle Riggers, 14.28; 5. Shannon Griffin, 14.34; 6. Taycie Matthews, 14.37; 7. Makala Pierce, 14.38; 8. Kriss Griffin, 14.40; 9. Kara Kreder, 14.42; 10. Presley Smith, 14.44. Average leaders: 1. Taycie Matthews, 30.20 seconds on two runs; 2. Wenda Johnson, 30.51; 3. Rachelle Riggers, 30.59; 4. Shannon Griffin, 30.65; 5. Kriss Griffin, 30.70; 6. (tie) Presley Smith, Carley Cervi and Latricia Mundorf, 30.73; 9. Kaycee Killingsworth, 30.77; 10. (tie) Makala Pierce and Madison McFall, 30.79; 12. Keyla Costa, 30.81.

Bull riding leaders: 1. Deklan Garland, 88.5 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Smokin Again; 2. Koby Radley, 86; 3. (tie) Jax Woodward and J.C. Mortensen, 85.5; 5. Colby Demo, 83.5; 6. Colton Kelly, 82.5; 7. (tie) Trey Kimzey and Maverick Smith, 81.5; 9. (tie) Levi Schonebaum and Coby Jonson, 77; no other qualified rides.


Leave A Comment


Latest News