Lowe spurs through mud to money

Home - Uncategorized - Lowe spurs through mud to money
Three-time world champion Will Lowe rides Pete Carr's The Senator on Friday night for 81 points at the Eagle County Fair and Rodeo. (TODD BREWER PHOTO)
Three-time world champion Will Lowe rides Pete Carr’s The Senator on Friday night for 81 points at the Eagle County Fair and Rodeo. (TODD BREWER PHOTO)

EAGLE, Colo. – The rains hovered over Johnette Phillips Arena about half an hour before the start of Friday’s third performance of the Eagle County Fair and Rodeo.

It didn’t stop until the final bull bucked, but the action was incredible from start to finish.

“It just kept coming down,” said Will Lowe, a three-time world champion bareback rider who posted an 81-point ride on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s The Senator. “When our horses went, it was still really good. As it went further and further, it just got worse.”

Lowe has experienced worse; that’s rodeo.

“It always adds different factors to it,” said Lowe, whose wife, Tiffani, is from nearby Gypsum; she competed in barrel racing on Friday. “Sometimes it can be real beneficial, but it just depends on the situation.”

He has experienced all the highs and lows that come with the game. In addition to his three gold buckles, he is a 14-time qualifier to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. He also is a two-time winner of the Eagle rodeo.

“I’ve had some real good goes here,” he said. “Usually at Pete Carr’s rodeos, it’s real nice because you have a good chance to win something on whatever you draw. You’ve just got to use them.

“Pete usually has a pretty even pen. I’ve been coming consistently since Pete got the contract here. They bumped the money up, and then they got Pete about the same time. But you know with Pete’s stock that whatever you draw will give you a chance to win money.”

Eagle County Fair and Rodeo
Eagle, Colo.
July 19-22
Bareback riding:
1. Jake Brown, 86 points on Pete Carr’s Classic Pro Rodeo’s Bright Lights; 2. Devan Reilly, 82.5; 3. Trenten Montero 81.5; 4. Will Lowe, 81; 5. (tie) Weston Garrett and Mike Fred, 80; 7. Zach Hibler, 79.5; 8. Tony Barrington, 75.5.

Steer wrestling: First round: 1. Beau Clark, 3.2 seconds, $645; 2. Justin Blain Davis, 4.8, $483; 3. Brian Snell, 5.0, $322; 4. Cutter DeHart, 5.2, #161. Second round: 1. Wyatt Johnson, 4.4 seconds; 2. Chisum Docheff, 4.7; 3. Austin Eller, 5.7; 4. Beau Clark, 6.8. Average: 1. Beau Clark, 10.0 seconds on two runs; 2. Chisum Docheff, 10.2; 3. Austin Eller, 12.6; 4. Kodie Jang, 19.5.

Tie-down roping: First round: 1. Kyle Dickens, 8.7 seconds, $677; 2. Brice Ingo, 10.4, $508; 3. Taylor Skinner 11.2, $338; 4. Ricky Lambert, 11.4, $169. Second round: 1. Brandon Neugebauer, 9.1 seconds; 2. Ricky Lambert, 12.2; 3. Taylor Skinner, 12.9; 4. Brice Ingo, 13.1. Average: 1. Brice Ingo, 23.5 seconds on two runs; 2. Ricky Lambert, 23.6; 3. Taylor Skinner, 24.1; 4. Joe James, 25.5.

Saddle bronc riding: 1. (tie) Wyatt Casper, on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Deuces Wild, and Bradley Harter, on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Sweet Maria, 83.5 points; 3. Chet Johnson, 81.5; 4. (tie) Dawson Jandreau and Tyler Turco, 81; 6. (tie) Sam Harper and Chanse Darling, 79.5; 8. Jake Finlay, 79.

Team roping: 1. Cole Dorenkamp/Bret Tonozzi, 6.0 seconds, $752; 2. Eric Martin/Cody Howa, 7.1, $564; 3. Travis Bounds/Jesse Sheffield, 7.3, $376; 4. Jay Tittel/Richard Durham, 7.5, $188. Second round: 1. Levi O’Keeffe/Jade Nelson, 5.3 seconds; 2. B.J. Campbell/Lane Siggins, 5.5; 3. Tanner Baldwin/J.W. Borregom 5.8; 4. Denton Taylor/Dusty Taylor, 6.2. Average: 1. B.J. Campbell/Lane Siggins, 16.2 seconds on two runs; 2. Brit Ellerman/J.D. Yates, 17.1; 3. Levi O’Keeffe/Jade Nelson, 17.2; 4. Tanner Baldwin/J.W. Borrego, 5.8 seconds on one run.

Barrel racing: 1. Ericka Nelson, 17.17 seconds; 2. Shali Lord, 17.32; 3. Kelly Koeppen, 17.36; 4. Melanie Roman, 17.62; 5. Jean Winters, 17.64; 6. Cambra Smith, 17.71; 7. Andrea Busby, 17.76; 8. Wendy McKee, 17.80; 9. Dani Durham, 17.81; 10. Abby Phillips, 17.85.

Bull riding: 1. Lex Oakley, 85 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Son of Sam; 2. Dillon James Tyner, 83; 3. Nic Lica, 81.5; 4. Fulton Rutland, 79; no other qualified rides.


Leave A Comment


Latest News