Muncy moves into title contention

Home - Uncategorized - Muncy moves into title contention
Two-time world champion Taos Muncy rides Northcott Macza's Moving Shadows for 87 points to move into second place in saddle bronc riding at the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo. (RIC ANDERSEN PHOTO)
Two-time world champion Taos Muncy rides Northcott Macza’s Moving Shadows for 87 points to move into second place in saddle bronc riding at the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo. (RIC ANDERSEN PHOTO)

SAN ANGELO, Texas – For more than a decade, Taos Muncy has been one of the greatest bronc riders in ProRodeo.

He’s a two-time world champion, having earned gold buckles in 2007 and ’11, and has qualified nine times for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, the sport’s premier championship.

On Wednesday night during the ninth performance of the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo, he danced across the arena dirt with Northcott Macza Rodeo’s Moving Shadows for 87 points to move into second place in the opening go-round. If he remains in that spot, he’ll add at least another $2,500 to his bank account.

More importantly, the Corona, N.M., cowboy is in position to win the San Angelo title – he has guaranteed himself a spot in Friday’s championship round, which will feature the top 12 contestants in each event from the preliminary rounds.

When he returns Friday, he’ll have company; both of his traveling partners, Zeke Thurston and Tyrel Larsen, scored well enough Wednesday to have a chance to compete in the short round. Thurston, a three-time NFR qualifier from Big Valley, Alberta, was 85 points on Northcott Macza’s Power Supply to sit fourth, while Larsen, a 2015 NFR qualifier from Inglis, Manitoba, was 83 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Daisy Duke; he sits eighth.

Every step is vital, no matter the rodeo or the time of year. Of course, it’s important to get off to a good start. So far this season, Muncy is ninth in the world standings. Thurston sits 12th, yet Larsen is 36th. Every dollar counts – in rodeo, there are no guarantees. Only the top finishers earn money in each round. But dollars equal points, and the contestants in each event who finish the season with the highest earnings will be crowned world champions.

Muncy and Thurston know that feeling. Thurston, a second-generation NFR cowboy, won the gold buckle in 2016. Larsen is trying to work his way into the top spot in the land.

For now, though, they’ll focus their attention to Championship Friday in San Angelo. Last year’s winner, Ryder Wright, earned $7,000 by winning the San Angelo title, and he parlayed it into a world championship season.

There’s always hope that any of the cowboys in Friday’s field can follow the same path to gold.

San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo
Feb. 2-4, Feb. 9-11, Feb. 14-16
Bareback riding leaders:
1. Luke Creasy, 86.5 points on Lancaster and Jones’ Total Equine’s North Country; 2. David Peebles, 85.5; 3. (tie) Will Lowe, Tanner Aus and Justin Pollmiller, 85; 6. Richmond Champion, 84; 7. (tie) J.R. Vezain and Levi Nicholson, 83.5; 9. Kaycee Feild, 82.5; 10. (tie) BoDell Jessen and Wyatt Denny, 82; 12. Steer wrestling: First round leaders: 1. Dakota Eldridge, 3.1 seconds, $3,653; 2. (tie) Craig Hicks, Brandon Harrison, Cameron Morman and Marcus Theriot, 3.5, $2,462 each; 6. (tie) John Kloeckler, Jarret New and Rowdy Parrott, 3.7, $794 each. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Dirk Tavenner, Clayton Hass, Jacob Talley and Cody Devers, 3.4 seconds; 5. Chason Floyd, 3.5; 6. (tie) Sam Powers and Cade Staton, 3.6; 8. Denver Berry, 3.8. Average leaders: 1. Dakota Eldridge, 7.1 seconds on two runs; 2. Clayton Hass, 7.2; 3. Jacob Talley, 7.5; 4. Sam Powers, 7.7; 5. Blake Mindemann, 7.9; 6. Denver Berry, 8.2; 7. (tie) Tyler Waguespack, Blaine Jones and Cameron Morman, 8.5; 10. Scott Guenthner, 8.6; 11. (tie) Tyler Pearson and Will Lummus, 8.7.

Team roping: First round leaders: 1. Steven Duby/Evan Arnold, 3.6 seconds, $3,471; 2. Tanner Green/Cody Hogan, 3.8, $3,105; 3. Brock Hanson/Ryan Motes, 3.9, $2,639; 4. (tie) Clay Smith/Paul Eaves, Cory Kidd/Caleb Anderson and Dustin Egusquiza/Kory Koonts, 4.0, $1,808 each; 7. (tie) Lane Ivy/Buddy Hawkins II, J.B. James Jr/Cesar de la Cruz and Bobby Baize/Justin Fox, 4.1, $362 each. Second round leaders: 1. Nelson Wyatt/Trace Porter, 3.6 seconds; 2. Bubba Buckaloo/Joseph Harrison, 3.8; 3. Luke Brown/Jake Long and Cody Snow/Wesley Thorp, 3.9; 5. (tie) Tom Richards/Jake Smith, Tyler Mangus/Truman Leo Mangus, Colby Lovell/Ty Arnold and Colby Lovell/Ty Arnold, 4.0. Average: 1. Steven Duby/Evan Arnold, 8.2 seconds on two runs; 2. (tie) Clay Smith/Paul Eaves and Tom Richards/Jake Smith, 8.3; 4. Brock Hanson/Ryan Motes, 8.4; 5. (tie) Paul David Tierney/Tanner Braden and Dustin Egusquiza/Kory Koontz, 9.5; 7. (tie) Nelson Wyatt/Trace Porter and Tyler Wade/Trey Yates, 9.0; 9. (tie) Logan Olson/Matt Kasner and Tyler Waters/Britt Bockius, 9.2; 11. Tate Kirchenschlager/Tyler Worley, 9.5; 12. Lane Ivy/Buddy Hawkins II, 13.1.

Saddle bronc riding leaders: 1. Wade Sundell, 88.5 points on Powder River Rodeo’s Morning Tea; 2. Taos Muncy, 87; 3. Ryder Wright, 85.5; 4. Zeke Thurston, 85; 5. Audy Reed, 84.5; 6. (tie) Sterling Crawley and Clay Elliott, 84; 8. Tyrel Larsen, 83; 9. Rusty Wright, 81.5; 10. Lefty Holman, 80.5; 11. (tie) James Greeson and Shade Etbauer, 80.

Tie-down roping: First round leaders: 1. Weldon Watson, 7.1 seconds, $4,942; 2. Scott Kormos, 7.3, $4,297; 3. (tie) Cory Solomon and Westyn Hughes, 7.7, $3,330 each; 5. (tie) Blane Cox, Zack Jongbloed and Cody Huber, 7.8, $1,719 each; 8. Cody Craig, 7.9, $430. Second round: 1. Tuf Cooper, 7.0 seconds; 2. Trevor Brazile, 7.4; 3. Michael Perry, 7.7; 4. Cade Swor, 7.8; 5. (tie) Blane Cox and Garrett Jacobs, 7.9; 7. (tie) Trent Creager, Hunter Herrin and Ryan Watkins, 8.0; 8. Brent Walden, 8.2. Average: 1. Blane Cox, 15.7 seconds on two runs; 2. Scott Kormos, 16.2; 3. Hunter Herrin, 16.3; 4. Timber Moore, 16.9; 5. (tie) Weldon Watson and Zack Jongbloed, 17.42; 7. (tie) Michael Perry and D.J. Parker, 17.52; 9. Marcus Theriot, 17.6; 10. L.D. Meier, 17.7; 11. Brice Ingo, 17.8; 12. Garrett Jacobs, 18.0.

Barrel racing: Second round leaders: 1. Teri Bangart, 14.21 seconds; 2. Cindy Smith, 14.27; 3. Carman Pozzobon, 14.28; 4. Tyra Kane, 14.30; 5. Tammy Fischer, 14.32; 6. Kaycie Teague, 14.35; 7. (tie) Sissy Winn and Dena Kirkpatrick, 14.39; 9. Alex Lang, 14.40; 10. Callahan Crossley, 14.41. Average leaders: 1. Dena Kirpatrick, 30.40 seconds on two runs; 2. Tyra Kane, 30.41; 3. Cindy Smith, 30.50; 4. Kim Coleman, 30.53; 5. (tie) Sissy Winn and Alex Lang, 30.54; 7. Tammy Fischer, 30.55; 8. Carman Pozzobon, 30.56; 9. (tie) Teri Bangart and Kimberly Cockrell, 30.59; 11. Callahan Crossley, 30.62; 12. Katy Petska, 30.66.

Bull riding leaders: 1. Sage Kimzey, 91 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Lonesome You; 2. Trey Benton III, 90.5; 3. Jordan Wacey Spears, 88.5; 4. Cody Rostockyj, 87.5; 5. Tyler Bingham, 87; 6. J.W. Harris, 86.5; 7. Ednei Caminhas, 85.5; 8. J.T. Moore, 85; 9. (tie) Austin Patterson and Dustin Boquet, 84; 11. (tie) Colten Gardner, Garrett Tribble and Stetson Lawrence, 83.


Leave A Comment


Latest News