Wilson takes lead on a fun ride

Home - Uncategorized - Wilson takes lead on a fun ride
Second-year PRCA cowboy Cash Wilson rides Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Downtown for 84 points Saturday night to take the saddle bronc riding lead at the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo.

SAN ANGELO, Texas – There’s a fine line between having fun and having too much fun, and Cash Wilson was walking a tight rope Saturday night.

“I was really having fun, and then I was having too much fun and set my rein down and spurred over my rein and about got myself in trouble,” said Wilson, who rodeo Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Downtown for 84 points to take the saddle bronc riding lead during the third performance of the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo.

“That’s a really good horse that went to the (National Finals Rodeo) last year. It was definitely the one to have in the long round here. I felt like I left some points on the table, but I should be able to get another one in the short-go.”

The final go-round is set for Friday, April 14, inside the Foster Communications Coliseum, the longtime home of this award-winning rodeo in west Texas. Only the top 12 contestants in each event from the 10 preliminary performances earn the right to compete on Championship Night, so it’s important for cowboys to find their way during the early days of this event.

“Last year I finished in the crying hole (13th) to make the short-go, but because Rusty Wright got hurt, I got to ride in the short round,” said Wilson, who sits 19th in the world standings after finishing among the top five in the Resistol Rookie of the Year standings last season. “This is one of my favorite rodeos. I got to come here on my permit season, so this is my third year being here.

“There are a lot of rodeo fans in San Angelo.”

That’s true, and they pack the coliseum night after night. That actually gives the game’s players a bit of a boost.

“It’s a lot different in front of a crowd like that,” said Wilson, 22, of Wall, South Dakota. “Your adrenaline is pumping, especially when you’ve got a good one drawn like I had tonight.”

He wants to keep riding the momentum that has seen him step up on the money list. He’s taken advantage of good bucking horses and has earned just shy of $30,000 so far this season. He’d love to pad that as he pushes through the spring and into the busy summer run.

“It’s been a good winter so far, so I just want to keep my head down and keep going,” he said. “Last year, I didn’t have any great success in the California run in the spring, but my confidence is up, and everything feels good. I just want to keep it rolling.”

Wenda Johnson posted the fastest run so far at this year’s rodeo when she stopped the clock in 14.23 seconds Saturday afternoon.

That’s the way Oklahoma barrel racer Wenda Johnson feels when she rides into San Angelo. The three-time NFR qualifier has had great success at this rodeo: She finished third a year ago, but won the title in 2021 and finished second in 2020. During Saturday afternoon’s second performance, she stopped the clock in 14.23 seconds to take the second-round lead.

The final barrel racer to run Saturday was Taycie Matthews of Wynne, Arkansas, who posted a 14.37-second run. That was enough to move her into the overall lead with a two-run cumulative time of 30.20 seconds.  

San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo
March 31-April 14
Bareback riding leaders:
1. Clayton Biglow, 87 points on Macza Pro Rodeo’s Stevie Knicks; 2. Richmond Champion, 84.5; 3. R.C. Landingham, 84; 4. Kade Sonnier, 83; 5. Gauge McBride, 82; 6. Chad Rutherford, 81.5; 7. (tie) Will Lowe, Kash Martin, Yance Day and Kaleb Norstrom, 80; 11. Lane McGehee, 79.5; 12. Clay Stone, 79.

Steer wrestling: First round leaders: 1. Dakota Eldridge, 3.4 seconds; 2. Will Lummus, 3.5; 3. Jay Williamson, 3.7; 4. (tie) Eli Lord, Logan Kenline and Denard Butler, 3.8; 7. Wade Steffen, 4.0; 8. (tie) Jesse Brown, Kyle Irwin and Grant Peterson, 4.1. Second round leaders: 1. Cody Devers, 3.5 seconds; 2. (tie) Tanner Milan and Brandon Harrison, 3.8; 4. Stan Branco, 3.9; 5. (tie) Joe Nelson and Talon Roseland, 4.1; 7. (tie) Jesse BrownTrey Jackson and Levi Rudd. Average leaders: 1. Cody Devers, 8.2 seconds on two runs; 2. Jesse Brown, 8.3; 3. Jay Williamson, 8.4; 4. Talon Roseland, 8.5; 5. Mason Couch, 8.8; 6. Curtis Cassidy, 9.0; 7. Stephen Culling, 9.1; 8. Boyd Sawyer, 9.3; 9. Gage Hesse, 9.7; 10. Wacey Dorenkamp, 9.8; 11. Kaden Greenfield, 10.1; 12. Newt Novich, 10.3.

Team roping: First round leaders: 1. J.C. Yeahquo/L.J. Yeahquo, 3.9 seconds; 2. Cyle Denison/Cody Hogan, 4.0; 3. (tie) McCray Profili/McCoyh Profili and Bubba Buckaloo/Riley Wakefield, 4.3; 5. (tie) Ty Arnold/Kaden Profili, Clint Keller/Morgan Jones and Korbin Rice/Jake South, 4.4; 8. (tie) Tanner Green/Caleb Green and Garrett Tonozzi/Corey Hendrick, 4.5. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Coy Brittain/Colton Brittain and Billy Bob Brown/Kirby Blankenship, 4.0 seconds; 3. Garett Chick/B.J. Dugger, 4.1; 4. (tie) Tanner Green/Caleb Green and Reno Stoebner/Whit Kitchens, 4.2; 6. Ty Arnold/Kaden Michael Profili, 4.4; 7. J.C. Yeahquo/L.J. Yeahquo, 4.5; 8. Keeper Parker, 4.6. Average leaders: 1. J.C. Yeahquo/L.J. Yeahquo, 8.4 seconds on two runs; 2. Tanner Green/Caleb Green, 8.7; 3. Ty Arnold/Kaden Michael Profili, 8.8; 4. Garrett Tonozzi/Corey Hendrick, 9.5; 5. Tanner James/Jason Johe, 9.6; 6. (tie) McCray Profili/McCoy Profili and Chris Francis/Cade Passig, 9.7; 8. Jase Staudt/Jhett Trenary; 9.8; 9. Korbin Rice/Jake South, 9.9; 10. (tie) Kreece Thompson/Landen Glenn and Kellen Johnson/Carson Johnson, 10.2; 12. Andrew Livingston/Seth Smithson.

Saddle bronc riding leaders: 1. Cash Wilson, 84 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Downtown; 2. (tie) Ryder Wright and Statler Wright, 83.5; 4. (tie) Wade Sundell, Ross Griffin and Brandon Lansford, 83; 7. Kai Rockhil, Lucas Macza and Damian Brennan, 82.5; 10. Gus Gaillard, 82; 11. Ira Dickinson, 81.5; 12. (tie) Carson Bingham and Sam Martin, 80.

Tie-down roping: First round leaders: 1. (tie) Brush Minton, Hayden Ford and Chase Webster, 7.6 seconds; 4. (tie) Blake Ash, Roan Hudson and Ryan Jarrett, 8.1; 7. Cory Rowland, 8.3; 8. (tie) Austin Thomas Hines, Justin Smith and Sy Felton, 8.4. Second round leaders: 1. Justin Smith, 6.9 seconds, 2. J.T. Adamson, 7.2; 3. (tie) Cory Solomon and Preston Pederson, 7.4; 5. Trenton Smith, 7.6; 6. (tie) Cimarron Boardman and Beau Cooper, 7.7; 8. (tie) Westyn Hughes, Zaine Mikita, Chance Oftedahl and Jayce Johnson, 7.8. Average leaders: 1. Justin Smith, 15.3 seconds on two runs; 2. J.T. Adamson, 15.8; 3. Brush Minton, 16.6; 4. Hayden Ford, 16.7; 5. Cody Waldrop, 16.8; 6. (tie) Westyn Hughes and Chase Webster, 17.0; 8. Beau Cooper, 17.1; 9. (tie) Chantz Webster and Taylor Santos, 17.6; 11. Charlie Gibson, 17.7; 12. (tie) Cimarron Boardman and Blake Ash, 17.8.  

Barrel racing: Second round leaders: 1. Wenda Johnson, 14.23 seconds; 2. Kaycee Killingsworth, 14.25; 3. Nicole Love, 14.27; 4. Rachelle Riggers, 14.28; 5. Taycie Matthews, 14.37; 6. Kara Kreder, 14.42; 7. (tie) Reagan Goudeau and Lauryn Moos, 14.48; 9. Dina Allred, 14.49; 10. (tie) Karsen Jackson and Seirra Scott-Williams, 14.57. Average leaders: 1. Taycie Matthews, 30.20 seconds seconds on two runs; 2. Wenda Johnson, 30.51; 3. Rachelle Riggers, 30.59; 4. Kaycee Killingsworth, 30.77; 5. Keyla Costa, 30.81; 6. Nicole Love, 30.87; 7. Karsen Jackson, 30.88; 8. Lauryn Moos, 30.95; 9. Kara Kreder, 30.96; 10. Dina Allred; 11. Reagan Goudeau, 31.11; Abby Pursifull, 31.20.

Bull riding leaders: 1. Koby Radley, 86 points on United Pro Rodeo’s Happy Days; 2. Jax Woodward, 85.5; 3. Trey Kimzey, 81.5; 4. (tie) Levi Schonebaum and Coby Jonson, 77; no other qualified rides.


Leave A Comment


Latest News