Hayes wins Chute-Out again

Home - Uncategorized - Hayes wins Chute-Out again

SAN ANGELO, Texas – There’s something about Foster Communications Coliseum that Keenan Hayes really likes.

Two years ago, the young cowboy from Hayden, Colorado, won the bareback riding title of the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo while competing on his permit. He finished the year with a single-season permit earnings record, collecting $108,568 in his “test-drive” season in which he needed to earn at least $1,000 in order to purchase his PRCA member

Last year, he won the San Angelo Cinch Chute-Out en route to another record-breaking campaign: He won the 2023 Bareback Riding Resistol Rookie of the Year, then became the first rookie ever to win the bareback riding world championship while earning $434,050, the single-season earnings record in his event.

He was a repeat champion after two solid rides during Saturday’s Chute-Out, claiming the title after a 91.5-point ride on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s New Scarlet in the championship round to outlast Utahan Dean Thompson and Bradlee Miller of Huntsville, Texas.

Ever since he decided to become a professional bronc buster, Hayes has made quite a statement. He began his night by riding Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Nite Faded for 87 points to advance to the final round, where he continued to put on a show with the bay-and-white paint Pickett horse that has been selected to perform four times at the National Finals Rodeo.

Hayes was the second of the three cowboys to ride in the championship round. He watched Miller post an 88.5-point ride to begin the section, then made his ride. Hayes was still in the arena when Thompson finished the round with an 89-point ride.

The Colorado cowboy is off to another hot start in 2024. He was fifth in the world standings heading into the weekend, but he likely will move up at least one spot on the money list with the $7,500 he grabbed in Tom Green County.

San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo
Cinch Chute-Out
April 20
Bareback riding: First round:
1. Dean Thompson, 89 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s San Angelo Sam; 2. Keenan Hayes, 87; 3. Bradlee Miller, 86; 4. (tie) Tanner Aus and Kade Sonnier, 83; no other qualified rides. Championship: 1. Keenan Hayes, 91.5 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s New Scarlet, $7,500; 2. Dean Thompson, 89, $3,000; 3. Bradlee Miller, 88.5, $2,000.

Steer wrestling: First round: 1. (tie) Stephen Culling and Ty Erickson, 4.0 seconds; 3. J.D. Struxness, 4.5; 4. Walt Arnold, 4.6; 5. Jacob Talley, 4.9; 6. Tanner Brunner, 5.0. Championship: 1. (tie) Stephen Culling and Ty Erickson, 4.3 seconds, $5,250 each; 3. J.D. Struxness, 4.7, $2,000.

Tie-down roping: First round: 1. 1. (tie) Ty Harris, Kincade Henry and John Douch, 7.4 seconds; 4. Quade Hiatt, 7.9; 5. Haven Meged, 8.3; 6. Will Lummus, 13.5. Championship: 1. John Douch, 7.3 seconds, $7,500; 2. Kincade Henry, 7.4, $3,000; 3. Ty Harris, 10.1, $2,000.

Saddle bronc riding: First round: 1, Logan Hay, 88.5 points on J Bar J Rodeo’s Painted Hawk; 2. Ryder Wright, 88; 3. Lefty Holman, 86; 4. Logan Cook, 84.5; 5. Zeke Thurston, 83.5; 6. Statler Wright, 82. Championship: 1. Ryder Wright, 88.5 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Toma Jo, $7,500; 2. Logan Hay, 87.5, $3,000; 3. Lefty Holman, 86, $2,000.

Team roping: First round: 1. Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira, 3.7 seconds; 2. (tie) Marcus Theriot/Cole Curry and Clint Summers/Jake Long, 3.8; 4. Cody Snow/Hunter Koch, 4.0; 5. J.C. Yeahquo/Buddy Hawkins, 5.2; 6. Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord, 8.3. Championship: 1. Clint Summers/Jake Long, 4.2 seconds, $8,500; 2. Marcus Theriot/Cole Curry, 5.9, $4,000; no other qualified times.

Bull riding: First round: 1. No qualified rides. Championship: 1. Hayes Weight, 90.5 points on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Time Bomb, $12,500; no other qualified rides. 


Leave A Comment


Latest News